Music Canada


Join Mailing List

Music Canada


 Music Canada

Tag archive: Neil Young (2)


Canadian Songwriters Hall Of Fame reveals 2017 Inductees

After a five year hiatus, the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will return for 2017 at Toronto’s iconic Massey Hall on September 23. This year’s inductees include influential Canadian artists Beau Dommage, Bruce Cockburn, Neil Young, and Stéphane Venne.

“We are thrilled to be back to celebrate the extraordinary careers of Beau Dommage, Bruce Cockburn, Neil Young and Stéphane Venne at this year’s ceremony at Massey Hall,” said Stan Meissner, Chair, Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame. “These inductees truly highlight the depth and incredible legacy of the songwriting talent we have here in Canada.”

The ceremony will feature tribute performances by Canadian artists including Arkells, Blackie and the Rodeo Kings, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Damien Robitaille, Daniel Lavoie, Don Ross, Élage Diouf, France D’amour, Florence K, Julie Payette, k.d. lang, Randy Bachman, William Prince and Whitehorse.

Tickets for the ceremony will be available to the public beginning on Friday, May 19 at 10am via Massey Hall’s website.


2016 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize winning albums revealed


On Monday, the Polaris Prize revealed the winning albums for 2016’s Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize, which honours Canadian albums of the past from four distinct time periods: 1960-75, 1976-85, 1986-95 and 1996-05.

The winning albums were revealed in a Facebook Live stream featuring Steve Jordan (Founder/Executive Director), Michael Barclay (Journalist), and Chris Murphy of 2015 winners Sloan. The award, which began in 2015, is described by Jordan as “our version of the Hall of Fame for some of the classic Canadian albums since 1960.”

Two winners for each era were chosen — one by public vote and one by the juries. Voting opened at the Polaris Music Prize Gala on September 19, 2016 and ended on October 17.

The 2016 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize winning albums are:


Public: Neil Young – After The Gold Rush

Jury: Leonard Cohen – Songs Of Leonard Cohen

1976 – 1985

Public: Rush – Moving Pictures

Jury: Kate & Anna McGarrigle – Kate & Anna McGarrigle


Public: Blue Rodeo – Five Days In July

Jury: Mary Margaret O’Hara – Miss America


Public: Arcade Fire – Funeral

Jury: Lhasa – La Llorona

In 2015, four albums were chosen through public voting, which included Joni Mitchell’s Blue, Cowboy Junkies’ The Trinity Sessions, Sloan’s Twice Removed, and Peaches‘ The Teaches Of Peaches. As was done with the 2015 winners, Polaris will pay tribute to the 2016 winning albums by selecting eight artists to create a commemorative art print inspired by the albums.


This website made possible with the support of the Ontario Media Development Corporation.