Music Canada


Join Mailing List

Music Canada


 Music Canada

Tag archive: Polaris 2017 (3)


Lido Pimienta wins 2017 Polaris Music Prize

Lido Pimienta accepting the 2017 Polaris Music Prize in Toronto

Colombian-Canadian artist Lido Pimienta was awarded the 2017 Polaris Music Prize Monday night in Toronto for her politically-charged and independently released album, La Papessa.

Determined by a Grand Jury of 11 music media professionals, the $50,000 Polaris Prize is awarded to the best Canadian album of the year “judged solely on artistic merit without regard to genre, sales history or label affiliation.” $3,000 will be awarded to the nine Short List nominees.

Accepting the award from 2016 winner Kaytranda, Pimienta was joined on The Carlu stage by her son and mother, noting the struggles her family’s endured and overcome as immigrants to Canada. Pimienta thanked the Cree, Anishinaabe, and Haudenosaunee Indigenous groups, and “all the single mothers out there who inspire me.”

The evening was live streamed by CBC Music, and also featured performances from Feist, Lisa Leblanc, Tanya Tagaq, Leif Vollebekk, and Weaves. Lido Pimienta’s performance of “La Capacidad” from the winning album La Papessa can be viewed below.


Polaris Music Prize reveals 2017 Short List

The 2017 Polaris Music Prize Short List was revealed today via live stream through CBC Music’s website and Facebook page, broadcast from CBC’s Toronto headquarters.

The 2017 Polaris Music Prize Short List is:

  • A Tribe Called Red – We Are The Halluci Nation
  • Leonard Cohen – You Want It Darker
  • Gord Downie – Secret Path
  • Feist – Pleasure
  • Lisa LeBlanc – Why You Wanna Leave, Runaway Queen?
  • Lido Pimienta – La Papessa
  • Tanya Tagaq – Retribution
  • Leif Vollebekk – Twin Solitude
  • Weaves – Weaves

The annual Polaris Music Prize recognizes excellence in Canadian music based solely on artistic merit, judged by a panel of music critics, with no regard for sales, popularity, or genre. This year’s winning album will be announced at the Polaris Gala at The Carlu in Toronto on September 18, and will also be live streamed by CBC Music.

Congratulations to all of the artists who made the Short List!

You can watch the Short List reveal below:


Polaris Music Prize reveals 2017 Long List in Ottawa

The Long List for the 2017 Polaris Music Prize was revealed Tuesday during a press conference at Ottawa’s National Arts Centre. The announcement, hosted by Polaris founder and Executive Director Steve Jordan, was livestreamed on Facebook Live.

The announcement capped off an exciting week for Jordan, who was also presented with the Unsung Hero Award Monday evening at the Canadian Independent Music Association’s third annual Celebration & Awards Gala in Toronto.

The 10 album Short List will be revealed on July 13, while the winning album will be announced at the Polaris Gala at The Carlu in Toronto on September 18. Both events will be streamed by CBC Music.

The 2017 Polaris Music Prize Long List is:

  • A Tribe Called Red – We Are The Halluci Nation
  • Alaclair Ensemble – Les Frères Cueilleurs
  • Anciients – Voice of the Void
  • Arkells – Morning Report
  • Philippe B – La grande nuit vidéo
  • Louise Burns – Young Mopes
  • Chocolat – Rencontrer Looloo
  • Clairmont The Second – Quest For Milk and Honey
  • Leonard Cohen – You Want It Darker
  • Antoine Corriveau – Cette chose qui cognait au creux de sa poitrine sans vouloir s’arrêter
  • Le Couleur – P.O.P.
  • Marie Davidson – Adieux Au Dancefloor
  • Mac Demarco – This Old Dog
  • Gord Downie – Secret Path
  • Drake – More Life
  • Feist – Pleasure
  • Figure Walking – The Big Other
  • Fiver – Audible Songs From Rockwood
  • Geoffroy – Coastline
  • Hannah Georgas – For Evelyn
  • Japandroids – Near To The Wild Heart Of Life
  • Carly Rae Jepsen – E.MO.TION Side B
  • B.A. Johnston – Gremlins III
  • Lisa LeBlanc – Why You Wanna Leave, Runaway Queen?
  • The New Pornographers – Whiteout Conditions
  • Klô Pelgag – L’Étoile thoracique
  • Peter Peter – Noir Éden
  • Lido Pimienta – La Papessa
  • Jessie Reyez – Kiddo
  • Daniel Romano – Modern Pressure
  • The Sadies – Northern Passages
  • John K. Samson – Winter Wheat
  • Tanya Tagaq – Retribution
  • The Tragically Hip – Man Machine Poem
  • Leif Vollebekk – Twin Solitude
  • Weaves – Weaves
  • The Weeknd – Starboy
  • Charlotte Day Wilson – CDW

This website made possible with the support of the Ontario Media Development Corporation.